Eagles News · HRVHS Forensics Team (Speech/Debate) takes 2nd at Pacific U Tournament!

The HRVHS Eagles Speech and Debate team competed Jan 9/10 virtually at the Hap Hingston Forensic Invitational at Pacific University. For the Sweepstakes (teams with most points), we took SECOND place! In Lincoln Douglas Debate: Sadie Smith took GOLD!!! Mel Glatter, Jacob Kaplan (in two events) and Sadie Smith also placed SECOND in their speech events. Plus, many students made it into the final rounds and did incredibly well! Below are the results from those final rounds.

(FYI: several of those who placed, were newcomers this year or even this last month!! Must be something in Hood River water that makes them exceptional??? :))

Way to go TEAM!!

Interested in joining–never too late! Email me or ask one of the team members! Ms. McDonald

Team sweepstakes results
2 Hap Hingston Forensics Invitational 92

Competitor results

Competitor Place Event Division
Hap Hingston Forensics Invitational – Final results
Jacob Kaplan 2 A – Open Impromptu Speaking (IMP) Open
Jacob Kaplan 2 B – Open Informative Speaking (INF) Open
Melanie Glatter 2 A – Open Radio Speaking (RS) Junior
Sadie Smith 2 A – Open Oratory (Ora) Junior
Kaelen Kenna 3 A – Open Radio Speaking (RS) Open
Melanie Glatter 3 D – Open Congress (CONG) Junior
Kaelen Kenna and Lelu Branch 4 C – Open Public Forum Debate (PF) Open
Lucas Elliott 4 B – Open Extemporaneous Speaking (EXT) Junior
Dylan Matthisen 5 A – Junior Impromptu Speaking (IMP) Junior
Sam Fauth 5 B – Open Extemporaneous Speaking (EXT) Junior
Jacob Sosa 6 D – Open Congress (CONG) Junior
Jacob Sosa 6 A – Junior Impromptu Speaking (IMP) Junior
Lelu Branch 6 B – Open Prose Reading (PRO) Junior
Melanie Glatter 6 B – Open Extemporaneous Speaking (EXT) Junior
India Hargrave Fin. D – Open Congress (CONG) Junior

 Lincoln Douglas Debate:

Bronze Round: Mason Spears                  Gold Round: Sadie Smith

Mason Spears was also the Top JR Speaker in LD, tying for 5th place overall in LD speakers.

Parlimentary Debate

Bronze Round: Lucas Elliot and Aden Cross, Angus Kellems and Sam Fauth

Lucas Elliot and Aden Cross were the Top JR team in Parli.